Home

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee

Athletic Department

CHSAA State Ski hosted at Durango Info

 
The Athletics Department at Durango High School will be closed Feb 20 - 22, 2019 for the State Ski competition at Purgatory and the Nordic Center. We apologize for any inconvenience. Information on registering for Spring Sports is shared below:
 

Welcome to Demon Athletics!

In addition to our rigorous academics, DHS offers students dozens of athletic, extracurricular, and co curricular activities so that every student may explore their interests. 
 
All athletes and activity participants must be registered and complete the registration process with the Athletics Office before their first practice. Go To ArbiterAthlete.com. All athletics and Marching Band require a signed doctor's physical. Please refer to the Kick-Off letter and FAQ documents below. If you get stuck, please call the Customer Support line at Arbiter at 888-668-7452 or send an email to schoolsupport@arbiterathlete.com.
  
There is a Participation Fee for the following activities at Durango High School: All sports (except Alpine and Nordic Ski) DECA, FFA, Instrumental Music, Knowledge Bowl, SkillsUSA, Speech and Debate, Vocal Music, and Student Council. Athletes/Activity participants should be prepared to pay the fee as the final step in the registration process. Students will not be eligible for participation until the registration process is complete. Debit or credit cards accepted.
 
Mandatory Parent/Athlete Sport Season kick-off meetings are part of the Head Coach's pre-season mandatory team meetings.See the coach for details on times and location
 
All athletes are required to complete a baseline concussion test before their first practice.
 
Activities (DECA, FFA, Orchestra, Choir, Knowledge Bowl, SkillsUSA, Speech and Debate, Student Council, Theatre, Concert Band) do not require a physical, but these activities do require the signature page at the back of the Athletics and Activities Code of Conduct and the White Card registration page. 
 
New Athletics Schedule site. This site is hosted by ArbiterSports and is free to view. You may choose to subscribe to through this site to get notifications of updates to the schedule
 
Lettermen jackets: we suggest (but do not officially endorse) contacting KMD Active Wear in Farmington. 505-327-7812
 
 
 
Looking for directions to any high school in Colorado? Click here.
 
DHS Athletics Staff:
 
Athletics & Activities Director
Adam Bright
(970) 259-1630
 
Athletics & Activities Assistant
Ann Duft
(970) 259-1630
 
COACH CONTACT INFORMATION
 
FALL SPORTS
Boys Golf
Coach: Kirk Rawles
Contact: krawles@durangoschools.org

Boys Soccer
Coach: Aaron Champenoy
Contact: achampenoy@durangoschools.org

Boys Tennis
Coach: Alan Batiste
contact: abatiste@durangoschools.org

Cross Country
Coach: Ken Flint
Contact: kflint@durangoschools.org

Football
Coach: David Vogt
Contact: dvogt@durangoschools.org

Softball
Coach: Missy Fundora
contact: mfundora@durangoschools.org

Volleyball
Coach: Colleen Vogt
Contact: cvogt@durangoschools.org

Cheerleading
Coach: Marcia Hoerl
Contact: mhoerl@durangoschools.org

Dance
Coach: Jackie Herring
Contact: jherring@durangoschools.org
 
Marching Band:
Director: Kat Reed
 
 
WINTER SPORTS
Boys Basketball:
Coach: Alan Batiste
Contact: abatiste@durangoschools.org

Girls Basketball:
Coach: Tim Fitzpatrick
Contact: tfitzpat@durangoschools.org

Girls Swimming
Coach: Tom Joyner
Contact: tjoyner@durangoschools.org

Wrestling
Coach: Leo Garand
Contact: lgarand@durangoschools.org

Alpine Ski
Coach: Leah LeSage
Contact: llesage@durangoschools.org
 
SPRING SPORTS
Track
Coach: Johnny Bertrand
Contact: jbertrand@durangoschools.org

Baseball
Coach: Eric Baker
Contact: kebaker@durangoschools.org

Girls Soccer
Coach: Jonathan Berzins
Contact: jberzins@durangoschools.org

Boys Swimming
Coach: Tom Joyner
Contact: tjoyner@durangoschools.org

Girls Golf
Coach: Kirk Rawles
Contact: krawles@durangoschools.org

Girls Tennis
Coach: OPEN
Contact:

Boys Lacrosse
Coach: John Robinette
Contact: jrobinette@durangoschools.org

Girls Lacrosse
Coach: Natalie Mitchell
Contact: nmitchell@durangoschools.org